jump to navigation

M2M for very beginners February 17, 2012

Posted by reto wettach in gadgets, new technologies, physical interaction design, prototyping tools.
trackback

As I wrote a couple of months ago, I am currently preparing a new research project which focusses on the easy access for non-engineers to the so called “Internet of Things”-technology.


(image source)

The other day I stumbled over a wonderful project called “Ninja Blocks“. This is basically a piece of open source hardware, which can easily be connected to the internet and allows basically anybody to set up simple rules based on “triggers” and “actions”:

Example Triggers:
“Movement has been detected”
“The temperature has risen above”
“You’ve been tagged in a photo on Facebook”
“You’ve sent a new tweet”
“A button has been pushed”
“Sound is detected”
“Your friend has checked in”

Example Actions:
“Display text on an LCD display”
“Play a sound”
“Send a tweet”
“Open a relay”
“Turn on a light”
“Send an SMS to my phone”
“Post a message on Facebook”
(source)

What a great idea!

The block itself contains an RGB LED, a built-in temperature sensor and an accelerometer, four expansion ports and a regular USB port allow you to add further inputs and outputs.

The basic design philosophy follows quite a high-level approach, not comparable to Arduino. I guess that is the way to go: though this kind of plug&play approach even more people will be attracted to work creativily with hardware.

All the best for your kick-starter initiative, Ninja Blocks!

 

Comments»

1. Laven Master - March 1, 2013

Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if
you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?

Thanks a lot!

2. sex filme kostenlos - August 1, 2013

I together with my buddies ended up studying the best guidelines on your
site while quickly developed a horrible suspicion I had not thanked the site owner for those techniques.
Those young boys were stimulated to see all of them and have now really been
tapping into these things. I appreciate you for actually being
so considerate as well as for settling on these kinds of terrific themes most people are really wanting
to be informed on. My sincere apologies for not expressing appreciation to you earlier.

3. http://www.tblog.com/profile_RalphClifford.html - August 4, 2013

Without experienced developers on-hand, many of these problems became overlooked,
and many substandard creatively designed websites are still
around today, with more and more being sent live
on the world wide web every day. However, before you opt for any of these marketing strategies, you will need to create a website
first so that you can list your many products and services
on that particular page. But if you opt for a custom solution,
you have the liberty to direct the church website designer about the features that you believe would characterize your church’s qualities in a dignified manner.


Leave a comment