jump to navigation

Emoticons in Logos :-( May 29, 2012

Posted by reto wettach in making the invisible visible, new technologies, poetic, visual design.
trackback

As some of you know, I am professor with the University of Applied Sciences in Potsdam (FHP). And therefore I have to live with the fact that I work for an institution with an emoticon in their logo:

(image source)(the logo was originally designed by Thomas Manns in 1993; its current version was done by my colleague Matthias Beyrow – his office)

Now I found this sausage stand close to the Reichstag in Berlin:


(own image)

Well, maybe it is time for my university to rethink its branding…!

PS.: Before writing this post, I talked with Matthias: soon he will be publishing a book on logos for German universities. According to his research the logo of my university is not so bad – compared with others… 🙂

Comments»

1. Daniel Bastian - June 6, 2012

Smiley con Wurstl. Can‘t be clother the the truth, right? Wurst makes people happy. How about FHP:-) ? But yes – it is embaressing. FHP is much better then it‘s visual appearence.

2. Kim - March 28, 2013

Yes please. The FHP really really needs a new visual identity! We shouldn’t search for worse examples but rather think of something good.

3. monicastuart60547 - April 8, 2016

I know this afternoon I said I won’t be down anymore. Come on http://tropaadet.dk/monicastuart60547081845


Leave a Reply

