jump to navigation

IAA: Force Feedback II September 22, 2011

Posted by reto wettach in innovative interfaces, physical interaction design.
trackback

A couple of years ago I wrote on Tactile Information Representation – Finally I got the chance to try a force feedback gas padel – by Continental:


(own image)

Continental presented three different scenarios:

  • One sporty implementation, where I did not really feel the difference (but I had only little time to try the system, so maybe my fault)
  • One supporting to shift gears at the right time, which was some kind of double click feeling. I can imagine that this is a good way to remember drivers to do so.
  • One for eco-friendly driving, which makes accelerating harder. I thought that this one was nice in an exhibition, but on a daily base one might not even feel this feature at all…

I think that there is a lot of potential in this area.
Well, not just me: Scott Klemmer (et al.) desribe in their wonderful paper “How Bodies Matter“,  the “Tacit Knowledge” that many physical situations afford plays an important role in expert behavior.

As I did an apprenticeship as a stone mason I can tell how one can feel in his hands and by the sound of hitting the stone the quality of a stone while working on it. This experience is actually not really possible to put into words, but it is an important aspect of becoming an expert. In computer technology this ability of humans has not really been used yet…

I would really like to work on a detailed design language for force feedback.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

