jump to navigation

Hunger Games April 20, 2011

Posted by reto wettach in gamification.
trackback

Just finished the very entertaining book “Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins. I do not really write about my reading habits in this blog, however this book made me think on one of the topics I am currently interested: gamification.

The book is about a dark America in the future with 12 disctricts, which were defeated in a war long time ago by the “Capitol”. Since then, each district has to provide one teenage boy and one teenage girl to the yearly “hunger games” – highly televised games, where there is only one winner: the boy or girl who reminds alive at the end of these murderous games!

(images source)

Anyways, I will not talk about the reflection on reality TV and “Big Brother” and neither about the 400+ pages of pure suspense. I will also not talk about the easy reading of this book as everything is at least explained twice.

This book made me think about gamification and about how existing rules are making us behaving in the wrong way – wrong for us personally and maybe also for the society.

There is one scene, where the best friend of the main character in the game, Katniss, is being killed by a boy from District 1. Katniss then thinks to herself:

“Es wäre unangebracht, den Jungen aus Distrikt 1 zu hassen […]. Ich hasse das Kapitol, das uns allen dies antut.”

My translation: It would be inappropriate to hate the boy from District 1. I hate the Capitol for what they do to all of us.

In my research class I will investigate situations where rules (existing gamification systems) lead to bad results for all participants. I will keep you posted!

Comments»

1. Hunger Games - November 16, 2013

I have learn a few excellent stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.
I surprise how so much effort you set to create one of these excellent informative web site.


Leave a Reply

