jump to navigation

Gamification for good?! April 9, 2011

Posted by reto wettach in gamification, play.
trackback

Last year, my research team and me won a grant by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The topic of our three-year-research-project is “Experience the Energy”. We want to explore ways of making people change the energy consumption. For this a adapted a model, which is nicely explained in my slides for the “Visual Voltage”-workshop, which I co-organized in 2010.

Now I am teaching a class related to one of the aspects of this research project: we want to explore, how social reward systems can be used to change peoples behaviors related to energy consumption. My favorite example: why is accidentially dropping my public transport monthly pass considerably less sexy than dropping my Porsche car keys?

In preparation for this class I looked deeper into gamification – the new hype for making people do what you want them to do.

The first time I remember, that gamification was used for people to do useful stuff, was the “Google Image Labeler” (here the wiki): a game where to players have to identify tags for a photo: the sooner they write a identical tag, the more points they get. Try it – it is kind of addictive!

(image source)

Todays understanding goes further: here a nice video for introduction:

Actually, just recently I met Ibrahim Evsan, who is Germany’s evangelist for gamification. He is also the founder of fliplife, a German gamification platform. We both were invited to give a talk at the Tchibo Ideentag. His thought on how to use game-dynamics for supporting people in archiving goals were quite inspiring.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

