jump to navigation

Surgeons With Video Game Skill Appear To Perform Better March 5, 2007

Posted by reto wettach in physical interaction design, play.
trackback

Just a short addendum to my talk at the TYPO-conference last year, which I gave together with the very smart journalist Ralph Grauel: we discussed the potentials and advantages of computer games:

Today I read this:
Surgeons With Video Game Skill Appear To Perform Better In Simulated Surgery Skills Course
“Those [surgeons] in the top one-third of video gaming skill made 47 percent fewer errors, performed 39 percent faster and scored 41 percent better on the overall Top Gun score than those in the bottom one-third.”
(source)

I know what to ask my doctor or dentist before my next treatment…

Comments»

1. Cheap Games - February 5, 2008

Yes, so do I.

Whether they’ve had enough free time to play video games (if the answer is yes, I’ll be away faster than a speeding bullet).

2. interaction design blog - June 2, 2008

Definitely, in games surgeons use the same skills they need in their work. By gaming a lot they improve these skills which benefits their work.

3. http://www.squidoo.com/extra-money-to-your-paypal - August 9, 2008

Oh yeah, the hand eye coordination follows from video gaming to surgery to many other feats that require precise dexterity.

4. sandrar - September 10, 2009

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

